Seven Essential Sewing Skills, from Sew, Mama, Sew!

I am planning on leaving Pinterest.  I read their Terms and Conditions and I found I am not comfortable with them and the potential lawsuits they could cause.  So instead, I’ll be blogging more!  This post from Sew, Mama, Sew! is awesome!  There are a lot of tricks I’d like to have up my sleeve or improve on what I can already do.  For her comments, please go to:  Seven Essential Sewing Skills  I have also included the links she posted.  Next up, is my craft room remodel.  hopefully it will be pretty much done tonight!  It seems like it’s been forever!  I can’t wait to share!

1. Prewashing your fabric
Pre-Washing Your FabricThe PrewashPreshrinking Fabrics: Methods and Mishaps

2. Taking Your Measurements – I’m going to read this one particularly, because my top half is much smaller than my bottom half and I almost need to wear petites.  AKA… Patterns never work for me.
How to Take Measurements
Measuring and Choosing your Size

3.  Pressing your fabric
The Art of PressingPressing FabricPressing Tools

4. Seam Finishing
Seam Finishes Simplified
How to Sew a French SeamSeam Finishes: Turned and StitchedSeam Finished: Bound Edges

5. Sewing Zippers – another great resource for this is How to Sew a Zipper Pocket from Makebabystuff.com
Guide to ZippersInstalling a ZipperInstalling an Invisible ZipperInserting an Invisible ZipSewing a Vintage-Style Lapped ZipInserting a Hand-Picked Zipper

6. Buttons and Buttonholes
How to Make a ButtonholeHow to Make Hand Worked ButtonholesBound Buttonholes: My Favourite MethodHow To Sew On A ButtonHow to Make a Buttonhole on a Baby Lock, Bernina, Brother, Janome, Pfaff or Viking + a Bartack Buttonhole

7. Hemming
Tips + Techniques for HemsSerging a Rolled HemHemming with Seam BindingLace-Trimmed Lining: A Pretty TouchHemming a Skirt

3 thoughts on “Seven Essential Sewing Skills, from Sew, Mama, Sew!

    • I am not entirely sure about how to wash linen look, I’ve never used it yet. I know that however you plan on washing the finished garment, the fabric needs to be washed that way before you sew it. Otherwise, it might shrink or change in odd ways that you can’t expect. I found this that might help you, it sounds like it can be washed in cold on the gentle cycle and dried on low or hung dry. http://www.ehow.com/how_4883571_care-linenlook-fabric.html
      I hope this helps!
      Joanna

      • I made a skirt with some linenlook recently. I prewashed the fabric the way I was all my clothes, cold water dry on low. I did learn that if you’re using it for a waistband, you need to use some kind of stabilize or something. My skirt stretches so much every time I wear it. Also, it is fading rather quickly. I will probably hang dry projects made with this fabric in the future.

Leave a Reply

